The CSPA Board of Directors is composed of patients, skin-health professionals, educators, and members of industry. The group meets face-to-face once a year at the Annual General Meeting and has regular conference calls throughout the year. Board members are elected and serve a two-year term. 

The board, which has representation from across Canada, sets the mandate for the organization and oversees staff to ensure financial and human resources are allocated appropriately to best serve Canadian skin patients.

The current Board of Directors:

Christena Baker (Co-Chair), Ontario

 Christena has a diploma in nursing from Loyalist College and graduated in June 2016 with a Bachelor of Applied Human Services Admin. She has varied professional experiences in health care settings including medical research (clinical drug trials), medical admin and clinic management-family medicine. She is motivated to support and develop health related nonprofits

 Barbara-Anne Hodge (Co-Chair), Manitoba

Barbara-Anne Hodge is an Occupational Therapist who worked on the Burn Unit at the Health Sciences Centre in Winnipeg, MB for 27 years.  Inspired to support and nurture the burn survivor community, she helped found the Mamingwey Burn Survivor Society and has served as Chair since 2003.  She is also a founding member of the Canadian Burn Survivors Community and is currently on the board of the Winnipeg Firefighters Burn Fund Inc.  She has been involved with the Canadian Skin Patient Alliance since 2008 and is currently the President of the Board. 

 Sanjay Bhatt, Ontario

Sanjay Bhatt is a leading IT professional. He has held several excutive Director level positions with MNC IT companies. In 2003, he started his own IT company. As Founder & CEO, he grew the company to over 580 software professionals with over 270 Million Dollars in revenue. Sanjay maintains an IT blog covering new innovations, IT technology trends and is a member of IEEE.

Sandy Burton, Ontario

Sandy was diagnosed with Rare Skin Disease (Darier's) at 3 years old. She has experienced many flareups and experimental medications but feels she is a survivor.  She has an amazing Dermatologist and his Mother before him(Dr.Rikki Schachter and Dr,Dan Schachter) who she is so thankful to. She is honoured to be a Director on CSPA Board and is proud to be a voice in helping people with skin conditions.

Kyla LaHaye, Alberta

Besides being involved with the CSPA as a Board Member, Kyla is a full time stay at home mother to two little boys, as well as a skin patient.

Recently, Through specialized testing, Kyla was finally officially diagnosed with a rare disorder called Autoimmune Progesterone Dermatitis.  As well as having APD, she also tested positive for being photo sensitive/allergic to UVB light. An official diagnosis however for the photo sensitivity has not yet been given. She is closely working with her doctors and is just in the beginning process of being seen by medical genetics department in Calgary Alberta.

In her spare time, Kyla enjoys working out, traveling, singing and spending quality time with her family.

Morris Manolson, Ontario

Morris F Manolson is a Professor and Associate Dean at the Faculty of Dentistry with a cross appointment in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto.  His research focuses on preventing the excessive bone loss associated with osteoporosis, inflammatory arthritis and periodontal disease.  

Munish Mohan, Ontario

Hansi Peiris, Quebec

Hansi Peiris is a Clinical Research Coordinator from Montreal, Quebec with a B.Sc. in Psychology from McGill University. She is passionate about dermatological research and advocating for skin patients. Hansi wishes to pursue her higher education to further advance clinical trial research while continuing to promote and protect the health of skin patients from across the globe.

 Julie Powers, Ontario

Julie Powers has her Post Graduate Diploma in Event Management, and currently is the Director of Member Relations and Events for a Private Fishing Club in Mt. Albert, Ontario. She is a co-founder of The Canadian Alopecia Areata Foundation, CANAAF, which has grown from a small group picnic in a park, to an organization with successful independence. When not volunteering on the CANAAF Board, or participating and facilitating the annual conference, she enjoys being with her 2 teenagers and her stubborn but loveable French bulldog.

Ashutosh Sharma, Quebec

Dr. Sharma is pursuing his post medical education with specialization in Family Medicine at McGill University. He possesses special interests in skin conditions with special emphasis on access to care for patients suffering from skin conditions. 

Previously, he has served as an executive director of various community organizations including India-Canada Organization and NACOI. 

He is committed to patient education and advocacy. We welcome Ashutosh to CSPA and appreciate his medical knowledge and dedication to the well-being of our patient population. 

Jacqueline Sigurdson, Manitoba

Jackie is  a psoriasis patient from Winnipeg, Manitoba.  She has had over 20 years experience as an Administrative Secretary as well as computer and accounting experience.  She has fought her battle with Psorasis for over 40 years now.  She is a strong, determined woman who has overcome many challenges in her life and I isa real "people person" who enjoys working with others. 

Executive Committee:  Barbara-Anne Hodge, Julie Powers, Munish Mohan, Christena Baker



Consider supporting the work of the CSPA with a donation


We are proud to partner with the Canadian Association of Psoriasis Patients

Find out more about CAPP and the work they do for Canadian Psoriasis patients and their familes.

Contact Us